
 1
 

DRAFT MoDOT Driver Survey 
 

a. Are you a licensed Missouri driver? 
a. Yes  
b. No [end interview] 

b. Are you age 18 or over? 
a. Yes [continue to question c] 
b. No [ask respondent if anyone over the age of 18 is available, if not, end interview] 

c. What is your age? 
a. 18-29 years old 
b. 30-39 years old 
c. 40-49 years old 
d. 50-64 years old 
e. 65+ years old 

d. Are you male or female? 
a. Male 
b. Female  

e. What is your ethnicity? 
a. American Indian or Alaska Native 
b. Asian 
c. Black or African American 
d. Hispanic or Latino 
e. Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 
f. White 

f. Is the vehicle you drive most often a: 
a. Car 
b. Van or Minivan 
c. Motorcycle 
d. Sport Utility Vehicle or Crossover 
e. Pickup Truck 
f. Other type of truck 

g. In what county do you currently live? 
a. _______ county name 

h. Is the community you live: 
a. Urban (50,000+ people) 
b. Rural (under 50,000 people) 

i. What is your household income? 
a. Under $30,000 
b. $30,000 – $49,999 
c. $50,000 – $69,999 
d. $70,000 or greater 
e. I prefer not to answer 

 
1. In the past 60 days, how many times have you driven a motor vehicle within two (2) hours after 

drinking alcoholic beverages? 
a. ______ (number) times 
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2. In the past 30 days, have you read, seen or heard anything about alcohol impaired driving (or 
drunk driving) enforcement by police? 

a. Yes 
b. No 

3. What do you think the chances are of someone getting arrested if they drive after drinking? 
a. Always 
b. Most of the Time 
c. Half of the Time 
d. Rarely 
e. Never 

4. How often do you use seat belts when you drive or ride in a car, van, sport utility vehicle or pick 
up? 

a. Always 
b. Most of the Time 
c. Half of the Time 
d. Rarely 
e. Never 

5. Do you favor keeping Missouri's seat belt law as a "secondary law"—where you can only be 
pulled over or ticketed if you are observed committing another violation; or do you favor 
changing Missouri’s seat belt law to a "primary law"—where you can be pulled over or ticketed 
if the officer clearly observes you are not wearing your seat belt? 

a. Keep “secondary law” 
b. Change to “primary law” 

6. Currently, the fine for violating Missouri’s seat belt law is $10.  Would you support an increase 
in the fine associated with this violation? 

a. Yes  [Skip to Question 6b] 
b. No  [Skip to Question 7] 

6b.   In your opinion, what should the fine associated with violating Missouri’s seat belt law be? 
a. Under $25 
b. $25 - $49 
c. $50 - $74  
d. $75 - $100 
e. Over $100 

7. In the past 60 days, have you read, seen or heard anything about seat belt law enforcement by 
police? 

a. Yes 
b. No 

8. What do you think the chances are of getting a ticket if you don’t wear your safety belt? 
a. Always 
b. Most of the Time 
c. Half of the Time 
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d. Rarely 
e. Never 

 

 

 

 

9. On a local road with a speed limit of 30 mph, how often do you drive faster than 35 mph? 
a. Always 
b. Most of the Time 
c. Half of the Time 
d. Rarely 
e. Never 

 

10. On a local road with a speed limit of 70 mph, how often do you drive faster than 75 mph? 
a. Always 
b. Most of the Time 
c. Half of the Time 
d. Rarely 
e. Never 

11. In the past 30 days, have you read, seen or heard anything about speed enforcement by police? 
a. Yes 
b. No 

12. What do you think the chances are of getting a ticket if you drive over the speed limit? 
a. Always 
b. Most of the Time 
c. Half of the Time 
d. Rarely 
e. Never 

13. Many states have passed laws which restrict or ban cellular phone use, including texting, while 
driving.  What level of restrictions would you support regarding cellular phone usage while 
driving? 

a. Full Restrictions – No Cellular Phone Use Allowed 
b. Ban on Texting While Driving, Phone Use Allowed 
c. Ban on Texting While Driving, Hands-Free Phone Device Allowed 
d. Hands-Free Phone Device Use Only 
e. No Restrictions 


