
Example Questions from 2011 
 
 These questions are from last year’s survey (2011).  This document does not show the 
questions that will be asked this year which have not yet been determined.  The purpose of this 
document is only to provide a general idea of the length and type of questions that will be asked.  
 
1. How often do you use seat belts when you drive or ride in a car, van, sport utility vehicle or 

pick up? 
a) Always 
b) Most of the Time 
c) Half of the Time 
d) Rarely 
e) Never 

 
2. Do you favor keeping Missouri's seat belt law as a "secondary law"-where you can only be 

pulled over or ticketed if you are observed committing another violation; or do you favor 
changing Missouri's seat belt law to a "primary law"-where you can be pulled over or ticketed 
if the officer clearly observes you are not wearing your seat belt? 

a) Keep "secondary law" 
b) Change to "primary law" 

 
3. Currently, the fine for violating Missouri's seat belt law is $10. Would you support an increase 

in the fine associated with this violation? 
a) Yes 
b) No  

3b. In your opinion, what should the fine associated with violating Missouri's seat belt law be? 
a) Under $25 
b) $25 - $49 
c) $50 - $74 
d) $75 - $100 
e) Over $100 

4. In the past 60 days, have you read, seen or heard anything about seat belt law enforcement by 
police? 

a) Yes 
b) No 

 
5. What do you think the chances are of getting a ticket if you don't wear your safety belt? 

a) Always 
b) Most of the Time 
c) Half of the Time 
d) Rarely 
e) Never 

  



6. On a local road with a speed limit of 30 mph, how often do you drive faster than 35 mph? 
a) Always 
b) Most of the Time 
c) Half of the Time 
d) Rarely 
e) Never 

7. On a local road with a speed limit of 70 mph, how often do you drive faster than 75 mph? 
a) Always 
b) Most of the Time 
c) Half of the Time 
d) Rarely 
e) Never 

 
8. In the past 30 days, have you read, seen or heard anything about speed enforcement by police? 

a) Yes 
b) No 

 
9. What do you think the chances are of getting a ticket if you drive over the speed limit? 

a) Always 
b) Most of the Time 
c) Half of the Time 
d) Rarely 
e) Never 

10. Many states have passed laws which restrict or ban cellular phone use, including texting, 
while driving. What level of restrictions would you support regarding cellular phone usage 
while driving? 

a) Full Restrictions - No Cellular Phone Use Allowed 
b) Ban on Texting While Driving, Phone Use Allowed 
c) Ban on Texting While Driving, Hands-Free Phone Device Allowed 
d) Hands-Free Phone Device Use Only 
e) No Restrictions 

 
11. In the past 60 days, how many times have you driven a motor vehicle within two (2) hours 

after drinking alcoholic beverages?  
 
12. In the past 30 days, have you read, seen or heard anything about alcohol impaired driving (or 

drunk driving) enforcement by police? 
a) Yes 
b) No 

 
13. What do you think the chances are of someone getting arrested if they drive after drinking? 

a) Always 
b) Most of the Time 
c) Half of the Time 
d) Rarely 
e) Never 



A. Are you a licensed Missouri driver? 

a) Yes 
b) No, I live in Missouri but do not drive 
c) No, I live outside of Missouri  

B. What is your age? 
a) 15-17 years old 
b) 18-29 years old 
c) 30-39 years old 
d) 40-49 years old 
e) 50-64 years old 
f) 65+ years old 

 
C. Are you a male or female? 

a) Male 
b) Female 

 
D. What is your ethnicity? 

a) American Indian or Alaska Native 
b) Asian 
c) Black or African American 
d) Hispanic or Latino 
e) Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander 
f) White 

 
E. Is the vehicle you drive most often a: 

a) Car 
b) Van or Minivan 
c) Motorcycle 
d) Sport Utility Vehicle or Crossover 
e) Pickup Truck 
f) Other type of truck 

 
F. In what county do you currently live? 
 
 
G. What is your home zip code? 
 
 
H. What is your household income? 

a) Under $30,000 
b) $30,000 - $49,999 
c) $50,000 - $69,999 
d) $70,000 or greater 


